New FRC Board appointed - Floreta Nicholas new Chairperson


Press Release


New Board of Directors of the Folk Research Centre



At its Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on Saturday October 3, 2015, members of the Folk Research Centre (FRC) elected a new Board of Directors for the biennial 2015 to 2017. The new Directors are:


1.      Dr. Joycelyne Fletcher

2.      Laurine Louis

3.      Shirley Ann Edward

4.      Juliana Prospere

5.      Floreta Nicholas

6.      Sylvester Dickson

7.      Hubert James

8.      Alwyn St. Omer


The ninth Director Msgr Dr. Patrick Anthony is a founding Director of the Folk Research Centre and is not elected.  For purposes of continuity Mr. Leslie Charles, the outgoing Chairman, was appointed to the Board in an advisory capacity.


Following the election of the new Board, a chairperson was elected at a meeting of the Board on Wednesday October 7, 2015.   At the meeting history was made when for the first time in its existence, a lady in the person of Ms. Floreta Nicholas was elected as Chairperson.


Ms. Nicholas is a retired senior Magistrate, Cultural Activist, actress and playwright.  She is expected to bring her knowledge and experience to bear in the furtherance of the objectives of the FRC.  The Deputy Chairman is Mr. Sylvester Dickson a retired civil servant who worked in the Ministry of Finance.  He is also a Credit Union expert.